Today’s Scripture (8/17/2022)

“It will come about after this That I will pour out My Spirit on all mankind; And your sons and your daughters will prophesy, Your old men will have dreams, Your young men will see visions. “And even on the male and female servants I will pour out My Spirit in those days.” – Joel‬ ‭2:28-29‬

I came across these verses last night in passing at my Bible study (Connect Group). Honestly, I think someone referenced the entire chapter of Joel 2, and so I casually scrolled and found it. It’s a set of verses I’ve heard before, but could never remember where it was and now I have it locked in!

I love the foretelling of God’s Spirit being gifted to us in a really unique way for the Old Testament. If I recall correctly (please correct me if I’m wrong), it seems like many promises in the OT are between God and His people (Israel). Yet, this one mentions “all mankind” as receiving in the gift of the Lord. Reading the foretelling there of the promise of Jesus in the Gospel of John…

“And I have other sheep that are not of this fold; I must bring them also, and they will listen to My voice; and they will become one flock, with one shepherd.” – John‬ ‭10:16‬

Jesus was telling the people that He was going to do a work to graft in us (gentiles) with His people, making us one church, one body, and sharing in one salvation, with one joy, together… to spend eternity with YWHW who loves ALL of us!

The promise gets even better though, if you can even imagine anything better than that! God made a promise through the mouth of the prophet Joel, that He was/is going to pour out His Spirit! That’s not just a little Spirit here, a little Spirit there, but POURING!!

Thunderstorm in the distance on the Huachuca Mountains

We get monsoons where I live in Southern Arizona. These monsoons many times are monstrous thunderstorms with pouring rain where sometimes getting hit with the rain drops feels like the sky collapsing on your shoulders. I’m sure all of you have also experienced varying levels of rain too. Imagine FEELING the pouring of God’s Spirit in such a way, because that is what He promised for all mankind!

Walk in the promise of God! Be thankful for His Spirit in your life, let Him work through you. The Spirit is just as alive and real as Jesus, and God the Father. The Spirit is alive in each of us, and this gives me hope, fills me with love, and brings me great joy day to day now!